Out of the drawer: a tea towel installation

by Jo Grant

Lately this has been my life out of hours; getting ready for Out of the drawer, a satellite project for Craft Victoria’s Craft Cubed event. The project is a small installation of pieces made out of vintage tea towels from my collection.  Liz and Tanya at Merrijig Inn and Kitchen have kindly given me their tiny front bar space to install these pieces and the work is an attempt to respond to the space and their dedication to the experience of food. Its a been a new experience for me and a great learning curve. I hope its been successful.

I’ll be popping in over the next few weeks to add bits and pieces to the installation.  If you go along and have a look, not all the pieces are obvious, some are hidden and integrated which is fun.  And if you do come, stay and have a drink while you’re there, its a gorgeous spot and one of the oldest buildings in town.  Installation can be viewed during the opening times of the restaurant, 4pm-10pm Thursday-Monday.

I am completely obsessed with vintage tea towels and this project has given me a chance to reinterpret them into other objects.  Here are some of the objects installed over the weekend.

Tea towel bottles

More tea towel bottles

Tea towel fruit punch

Pineapple

Tea towel bowls

more tea towel bowls

detail

Local feral fruit tree branches and tea towel fruit

This project is part of Craft Victoria’s Craft Cubed event.