Five tea towels: #ONE

by Jo Grant

This post starts a homage to my tea towel obsession. Most people that know me know that I have an unreasonable obsession with the little towel that dries our dishes. It started some years ago when I began collecting them to make art works. There are self-imposed rules around collecting these pieces but I won’t bore you with that here. Suffice to say, I’ve become expert at locating exactly what I consider ‘beautiful’ in the world of the used tea towel.

To share the love, I’ll be posting five tea towels a week for the next little while. This will keep the inspiration up for me as I work on a major tea towel piece for a November exhibition in Sydney at Branch3D.  Today’s post is for Sandra (thanks for the idea).

My newest tea towel. I simply couldn't resist and have never seen one like it in my travels.

My newest tea towel. I simply couldn’t resist and have never seen one like it in my travels.

 

An example of the tea towels I love the most. Worn and faded. I love the subtle colours. I don't even mind the stains.

An example of the tea towels I love the most. Worn and faded. I love the subtle colours. I don’t even mind the stains.

 

This one needs no explanation. So gorgeous it's on my wall.

This one needs no explanation. So gorgeous it’s on my wall.

 

Another well-used tea towel. Given to me by a friend. It was her mother's and she wanted me to 'use it well'.

Another well-used tea towel. Given to me by a friend. It was her mother’s and she wanted me to ‘use it well’.

 

'Greetings...'. Classic.

‘Greetings…’. Classic.